Friday, May 1, 2009

Roanoke River Basin Advisory panel to weigh uranium mining

We'll all be interested in hearing Walter Coles' position on the issue. How is it again that he continues to serve on this committee?

The South Boston News & Record
/ April 30, 2009

The Virginia Roanoke River Basin Advisory Committee will meet Thursday, April 30 at 12:30 p.m. at the Clarksville Community Center. The topic of the meeting will be uranium mining, with three speakers featured on the agenda:

John P. Gannon is originally from southern New Jersey and received a Bachelor’s degree in physics from the College of New Jersey in Ewing, NJ in 2007. He now resides in Blacksburg, VA where he is a graduate student in the geosciences department at Virginia Tech. Gannon is working towards a Masters degree in physical hydrogeology. His project involves characterizing the hydrogeology of the Coles Hill area in Pittsylvania County, site a proposed uranium mine.

Leslie P. Foldesi has a MS in biology and is certified as a health physicist with the American Board of Health Physics. I have been employed with the Virginia Department of Health since 1985 in the Radiological Health Program and served as the director for 21 years.

Katherine Mull, Executive Director of Dan River Basin Association, has worked on regional water issues for the Northern Virginia Regional Commission, Fairfax County and as a planning commissioner. As a member of the board of directors of national and state organizations, she has worked on river basin conservation and public policy, including coal mining. As a management consultant, her experience includes financial systems for the U.S. Navy, business and government consulting, and market research and planning for the U.S. Department of Energy. Ms. Mull holds an MBA from the Darden Graduate School of Business at the University of Virginia and a BS from the State University of New York at Albany.

Committee Members

Senator Roscoe Reynolds

Walter Coles, Sr., Chatham

Senator Frank M. Ruff

John H. Feild, Mecklenburg

Delegate Kathy J. Byron

Haywood J. Hamlet, Phenix

Delegate Thomas C. Wright, Jr.

Evelyn Janney, Floyd

Delegate Onzlee Ware

Bob Jean, Brookneal

Delegate Charles D. Poindexter

Russ Johnson, Wirtz

Rep. Tom Perriello

John Lindsey, Penhook

Mike McEvoy, Chairman, Roanoke

Billy Martin, Sr., Blue Ridge

Tim Pace, Collinsville

Robert H. Conner, Vice-Chair, Ebony

Mark Wagner, Huddleston

Read Charlton, Vice-Chair, Charlotte Court House

No comments: